After the End

Posted: 07/07/2011 in Books

After the End by Bonnie Dee

I never fault a book or movie for trying to do something new and different within the zombie genre. Some things work and some things don’t, but a little ingenuity helps to keep things fresh. But most of the time, what I really want is just a good, old, straightforward, flesh-eating zombie romp. To that end, Bonnie Dee delivers!

Simple story here: A group of strangers are on the subway, zombie-hell breaks loose, strangers come together to try to escape the city. The characters are slightly cliched, but well-written: you’ve got your Army-boy reluctant hero, tougher-than-she seems college student, badass lesbian, smart-ass teen, little girl, and determined older lady. There’s also a subplot about a scientist with a potential cure. It’s all pretty standard, but done on a high level.

Apparently, Bonnie Dee is a romance novelist by trade, and in hindsight I realized that some of the love scenes got into a little more detail than most of your typical zombie fare. I didn’t think it detracted from the story at all and actually found the female perspective to be a little refreshing in a male-dominated genre.

I really enjoyed this one and finished it within two days. Definitely worth checking out. I give it my highest recommendation. 26 out of 26 stars!

Over at amazon.com you can pick up the Kindle version for $3 or the paperback for $13.

Comments
  1. kjburke says:

    Glad you enjoyed my recommendation. Makes me feel like a good recommender.

  2. […] VERDICT: This is a really excellent book! You should go read it right now. I don’t know if it says more about me or about the quality of the female zombie perspective that 3 of my favorite zombie novels are penned by women. (See also Hollowland and After the End) […]

Leave a Reply

