The Zombie-Wilson Diaries

Posted: 07/13/2011 in Books

The Zombie-Wilson Diaries by Timothy W. Long

If you were stranded on a desert island and could only have one thing, what would it be? If you said a zombie……you’re weird…….and pretty stupid. As the narrator of The Zombie-Wilson Diaries can attest to, zombies can be a real pain in the ass.

Timothy Long makes it pretty clear from the start that this story is pretty much Cast Away with a zombie instead of a volleyball. With a title like this, you should know that you’re in for some tongue-in-cheek humor. Does Long succeed? For the most part: yes.

ZWD didn’t grab me from page 1. I found myself picking it up, reading a chapter, and then putting it back down. But, about 25% way through, I became more invested and started reading more voraciously. Long throws in some twists and turns and the more that I read, the more I wanted to see what happened next. He really made some interesting choices in his story-telling and most of them paid off. I found the ending to be a bit abrupt and I thought that there were several different options he could have explored, but there may be a sequel planned that I’m not aware of.

ZWD is told in journal style, which I’m not a huge fan of, but there’s really not a more appropriate place for it than on a deserted island. It really works in this case. Long is clearly a strong writer and he pulls off the journal style pretty well. I purchased the Kindle version. From what I understand, the hard copy is written in a hand-writing style font and contains some intentional typos. The Kindle version doesn’t have those typos, which I prefer (otherwise I’m always left wondering if a typo is intentional or not and that tends to take me out of book). I do have to say that I do prefer the artwork of the paperback to the Kindle version (seen above).

Overall, the ZWD is a pretty original and fun addition to the annals of zombie fiction (as opposed to zombie non-fiction). You can pick up the Kindle edition for a buck, which is a great bargain! I give it a healthy recommendation and a solid 20 out of 25 stars.

Leave a Reply

